The Greatest Wizard of All Time Made My Life

image

          Today is the third of August. Seven years ago, on this day, the last book of the Harry Potter series was released.

I remember crying and begging my parents to take me to a bookstore far away from my home at 6 am – on the night of the 2nd of August 2007, seven years back. They thought it was ridiculous to go to buy a book which will be available, probably for the rest of my life, practically in every bookstore around me. I, in the 7th grade and aged 13 years young then, was afraid that my parents didnt understand the difficulty of my position. What if the stock was over and done with?  I would have to wait for ages, then!

Yes, Harry Potter was B-I-G back then just as how it is now, but better and more larger than life.

In all eventuality, I did get (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows) the book and it wasn’t on the 3rd of August, much after that – I won it in a poetry competition conducted by the YMCA. I was so ecstatic! The best part about receiving the book was that the poem that acquired the last book for me was my take on Harry Potter! At this moment, I actually have tears in my eyes. It may possibly be a bit psychotic of me to feel so much about a book series but trust me, only a Potterhead will get understand this.

           My love for reading and writing, it all came from this fantastic, magical journey of Harry and his world of Hogwarts. At the age of 11 (Harry stepped into Hogwarts at the age!), I read a novel and it changed my life and its going to be there until I am here.

J.K. Rowling’s genius is never going to grow on me and that is bloody guaranteed! I have read the series a LOT of times and I think it is quite safe to say that I must have read all the seven books more than seven times… each. It’s a life long obsession so its going to be something like my partner should also be a Potterhead because I will be naming the pets and may be a kid with reference to a character in the series.

And who can not get high on that cult-like satisfaction I feel everytime I meet another Potterhead! It’s like a drug, Potterism is.

My religious views are agnostic (although I maintain the decency of Hinduism around my family and respect some ideologies). But with respect to story telling and writing, Rowling is my saint and Harry Potter is my religion. Gosh, this IS so cult-like!

image

I can go on about what the series has taught me for the next 30-40 posts, but I will not hamper with the mind of (you) my beloved readers. I hope to buy some more Harry Potter merchandise this year.

Rest in Peace Dobby, Remus Lupin, Nymphadora (don’t call her that!) Tonks, Fred Weasley, Alastor Mad-Eye Moody, Sirius Black, Severus Snape, James and Lily, Bertha Jorkins, Frank Bryce, Cedric Diggory (ROBERT PATTINSON WHEN HE WAS SANE), Barty Crouch (Sr.), Madam Bones, Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore (we miss you, Professor), Hedwig (thank you for being there for Harry), Ted Tonks, Lavender Brown (sorry I laughed at you) and Colin Creevey (the best junior and photographer ever).

image

Yes, I do this everywhere. Weasley is our king.

Shine On 💫

Leave a Reply

